26 June 2019

Class of 2018

Chiropractic students from around the country have celebrated their graduation as they head into the next chapter of their chiropractic journey. While the majority of the students completed their studies last year, many of the ceremonies and awards nights are not held until the following year. Each of the four main chiropractic courses held their own graduation nights, to celebrate the great achievements and hard work these students have put in over the last five years.

Macquarie University

Macquarie University held their ceremony on Friday 26 April 2019. Students graduating with a Bachelor of Chiropractic Science as well as those who obtained their Masters of Chiropractic were celebrated on the day. That evening the annual chiropractic ball was hosted by the Chiropractic Alumni to celebrate the momentous occasion. It was an intimate affair with graduates, staff, members of the profession, and family and friends in attendance. Ingrid Dunkerley received an impressive amount of awards including the ACA Award for Student of the Year, while the Ed Devereaux Award was awarded to Kareem Fawal and the ACA Academic Excellence Award for First Year Masters was awarded to Hung Jae Lee.


The students from the CQU Brisbane campus celebrated their official graduation ceremony on 9 April 2019. As the cohort were the first to graduate from this campus, the 12 new graduates rightfully celebrated with a graduation dinner on 9 March 2019. As one of only two graduates from the new CQU Sydney campus, Amy Mason joined CQU in Brisbane for the dinner celebration. CQU’s Mackay campus held their graduation ceremony and ball on 10 May 2019. The ball was a great way to celebrate the hard work and dedication of the students over the last five years. New graduate, Sophia Lawton won the ACA Masters Prize, which is awarded to the fifth year Brisbane or Mackay Master of Clinical Chiropractic student who achieved the highest GPA in the Master’s degree.

RMIT University

The RMIT University celebrations were held on 14 December 2018. Although the night was intended to be a graduation ball, with students, family, and staff in attendance, unfortunately the venue had to be changed at the last minute due to a flooding at the venue. Thankfully, the then CSA President and award recipient Elsie Rodgers was able to make a last-minute booking at another location, where the graduating students and their loved once were able to celebrate with a few drinks. The ACA Graduate of the Year award recipient was Wai Hung Lai, for demonstrating outstanding academic excellence and achievements throughout the RMIT chiropractic program.

Murdoch University

On 13 February 2019, Murdoch University students, family and friends joined the new chiropractic graduates for the ceremony, which was followed by food and celebratory drinks. Unfortunately, some of the graduates were absent as they were generously giving their time and skills to others as part of Hands on India. The 2018 graduating class also chose to celebrate their achievement as a whole year group with a well-deserved Wine Tour through the Swan Valley. Fifth year student Rebekah Riches received the Murdoch University School of Chiropractic Student Choice Award, during the MoveIT! Ball on 24 November 2018, for representing a positive, constructive and active approach to chiropractic education and student life.

ACA would like to congratulate the graduating class of 2018 and welcome them to the wonderful chiropractic profession.